On Guns

In 2008 my husband got accepted in a masters program in Chicago IL, so our little family moved to Chicago’s south side to be near friends and establish a support group without nearby extended family. I used to think the year spent there was one of my worst years in my life until we moved back to Cairo Egypt six months before the Egyptian Revolution.

The first impression of our Chicago neighborhood was an unsettling one. “Why do they have gates and barbed wires around the buildings here?” “Oh, it’s for safety. Don’t you feel really safe now?” “Actually I feel the opposite”…

After the Newtown incident my daughter’s preschool installed new locks and doorbells. I believe there is a necessity to more security in schools but although it’s an unlikely scare, it does not put my mind at ease. The wait between ringing that door bell and a teacher approaching to open my youngest’s preschool door is spent in prayers for the families and for protection for my own.

When I listen to some Americans (hello midwestern gun lovers) on a local radio show starting by condoling the families who have lost loved ones then arguing about their rights and identity, I feel lost, well more like outraged. Is it really worth it?

I lost my temper the other day while driving my car. The car next to me moved suddenly into my lane and almost crashed into my car. I was in the driver’s blind spot, and I’m assuming if I didn’t have my Egyptian fast driving reflex’s I would’ve been in a serious car crash, I too quickly swerved to the next lane while pressing the breaks. We were lucky the street was empty. When I looked at the driver angrily, she gave me the finger. In retrospect what I did next wasn’t the wisest decision to make, but as they say anger is blind. I drove next to the car, rolled down my windows and yelled “NEXT TIME CHECK YOUR BLIND SPOT” and then drove off.

After this the car changed lanes again and started following me for a good 10 minutes. How I know this, is I noticed the car in my rear view mirror for a while, so to make sure I started turning into right and left streets randomly. Finally I saw the car make an illegal U turn with a cinematic screeching of the wheels and drive off. I really thought that the driver probably had a gun and wanted to kill me. Note to self: don’t yell at random strangers and when in doubt call 911.

The law in WI allows people to carry concealed weapons, so on every business window in our city we have a no gun sticker. Lest you forget.

Did I tell you about the time I tried to see a psychologist and couldn’t because my insurance doesn’t cover it? No? Well that’s a different post.

America is still a great country, and all great countries need some more work.

Peace.

Leave a comment